Tags

, , , , , ,

Last month I realized the time had come to decide what to do about a book trailer for the upcoming book release. I’ve heard a lot of opinions about the usefulness of book trailers since I started researching author book promo. Here’s a summary:

I admit, old-timer that I am, to having been somewhat repulsed when I first heard of the notion of the book trailer (as I was somewhat repulsed when the term “pitch” first transferred from movies to books). But I’ve adjusted to both. Though it’s clear that if one wants to do a book trailer, it had better be a damned good book trailer.

Talking to a variety of publicists, I learned that many now offer to get your book trailer done for you. Dozens of companies (Google it) have sprung up offering to do the job for you, and just as many sites let you know how to do it yourself (Google it).

I knew I did not have the time, skill, or inclination to do my own book trailer. So I was scouting around the various companies (prices appear to be $200 and up) when, as reported in earlier posts, my artist friend Mike Sissons appeared out of the blue. He agreed to do a trailer soon after.

Even as I had been researching book trailers, I had been researching Kickstarter to see if it would be possible to raise funds for book promotion. That looked like a non-starter, but I quickly realized that I could try to use Kickstarter to fund the book trailer, which is indeed an artistic project with a tangible output.

Check out the Kickstarter Video for the In Retrospect Trailer, which includes a rough demo of the actual trailer:

Click here to go to the Kickstarter Project.

Part II will cover the decisions I made about the rewards and other aspects of the Kickstarter project.

