Tags

, , , , , , ,

After taking about three weeks to put together a top-notch Kickstarter project video and reading all the how to articles I could get my digital hands on, I went live this week. The first two days have seen over $400 pledged, which is cool and very encouraging.

After the video, the hardest part of putting together the project was wrestling with the Rewards. All accounts highlight the need to make them good–but if you make them too good, you cut too deeply into your possible proceeds. I settled on a hierarchy of rewards that would cost me on average about one-third the amount of money at each given level. Thus, for a $75 pledge, my cost is about $25 (my cost for 6 postcards, 1 poster, and 1 copy of the book plus mailing costs).

I’m offering my freelance editing services as rewards at the higher reward levels. This is something I pondered a long time over. Would people be interested? Would I have time to do the editing I promised? In the end I decided to go for it, thinking that I would make specific appeals for the Kickstarter project to writers, including my own clients, who might be glad to get a price break on an edit.

I set my goal at $3000, which means that, depending on what reward levels people go for, I can clear about $2000. But I must also deduct the five percent that Kickstarter takes plus the 3-4 percent fee that amazon.com charges for handling the money. So in fact I’m looking at clearing about $1700, if successful.

I think my rewards are pretty good, compared to a lot of other projects that offer just thanks or very inexpensive gifts. That should be a plus for me. Now the question is, how to get the word out!

